Motivation: Achieve it, Sustain it, Maintain it

Motivation is literally the desire to do things. It’s the difference between waking up before dawn to teach (or attend) a sunrise spinning class or just hanging out around the “Motivation” Road Sign with dramatic clouds and sky.house all day. It’s the crucial element in setting and attaining goals—and research shows you can influence your own levels of motivation and self-control. What motivates me are not just my own health goals and the daily “deposits” I make by teaching cycling classes, but the connection I have made with class attendees.  I enjoy helping others find the same passion in working out as I do. Besides, working out with others is a great stress reliever and gives me unbeatable energy. I am inspired by the participants in my class, from the 70 year old retired veteran, to the young lady who overcame severe injuries from an accident, to the widowed father of three who managed to lose over 50 pounds, quit smoking and lower his blood pressure in less than 6 months. I am uplifted by their perseverance and determination; they are the true heroes – I just show up and play the music.

Therefore the secret to achieve motivation, sustain it and maintain it is to tap into the limitless supply of positive energy from your class participants. Connect with them and together you can make it happen. Below is the motivation quick reference guide, portions of which is available from Spinning.com (click to enlarge):

MOTIVATION

 

What motivates you? What inspires you to attend cycling classes? Send in your comments.

Eat…Sleep…Ride…Repeat..

Sempre Avanti!

Leave a Reply

